Category Archives: News

General information

49th WV Scholastic Championship

Date: March 17, 2018
Site: Bridgeport Conference Center, 300 Conference Center Way, Bridgeport, WV 26330
Sections: K-3, K-5, K-8, K-12
Format: 4 round Swiss System (5 if necessary for K-8 and K-12)
Time Control: K-3/K-5 G/30 d5; K-8/K-12 G/45 d5
Entry Fee: $25 by 3/10, $30 afterwards. Advance registration required.
Check In: 7:45-8:30
Prizes: Team and individual trophies. K-12, K-8, and top female will be nominated to the Denker, Barber, and NGIT national tournaments of champions.
Online Registration:
See flyer for more details and entry form.

US Chess Annual Awards

Congratulations to John Roush, who is a winner of the US Chess Outstanding Career Achievement Award. Also notable is Former US Senator Jay Rockefeller, who was named as Special Friend of US Chess. See the full announcement at

William H. Rice 1947-2016

Bill Rice of Elkins has passed away. He was an active member of the Elkins Chess Club and competed in the 2013 State Championship held in Elkins.

William Hargett “Bill” Rice, 69, and a resident of Elkins, passed away Friday, Nov. 18, 2016, at his home, of cancer.

The family will receive friends from noon until 2 p.m. Saturday, Dec. 3, at Tomblyn Funeral Home in Elkins.

In lieu of flowers, memorial contributions may be made to the Belington Public Library, 510 Elliot Ave., Belington, WV 26250 or to the West Virginia Regional History Collection, 1549 University Ave., Morgantown, WV 26505, in memory of Bill. Tomblyn Funeral Home of Elkins is in charge of the arrangements for William Hargett “Bill” Rice. Condolences may be expressed to the family at

Obituary courtesy of The Inter-Mountain.

2016 WVCA Business Meeting

The business meeting of the WVCA was held September 3, 2016 before the first round of the State Championship. Two things of note: the Ripley Chess Club is donating $250 to the Grand Prix prize fund and the format and date for the State Championship is no longer fixed.

These are the requirements for the State Championship going forward:
– 5 rounds or longer
– G/75 or longer
– Held between August 1 and October 31

The 2017 State Championship will be held in Mt. Nebo, just outside of Summersville. Expect a 2-day 5-round event with a shorter time control for rounds 1 and 2.

The 2017 Action Championship will be held in Ripley.

President – John Roush
Vice President – James Fields
Secretary-Treasurer – Ben Good
Bulletin Editor – Mike Baker
At-Large Member – David Bruner

Delgate to USCF – Lewis Sanders, Charles McCallister alternate

2016 Meeting Minutes