Category Archives: Results

Tournament Results

WV Scholastic Chess League

The Team portion of the WV Scholastic Chess league is complete. Weberwood Kings took first over Kelsch Budwany on tiebreaks in the K-5 section. The Camden Crusaders dominated the MS/HS section (four of them scored a perfect 6-0!). The USCF crosstable can be found here.

Pictured is the MS/HS winning team, the Camden Crusaders.

WV Junior Championship

John Boylin, our resident championship collector, has added another to his list. John went 4-0 and is now the Junior Champion as well as the Action and overall State Champion. No one has ever held all of these at the same time before! If he could simultaneously be under 21 and over 50 I imagine he’d have all 4 titles.

Landon Leach and Ishaal Patel tied for the beginner section and Markle Butcher won the Friends and Family Section.

USCF Crosstable

WV Senior Championship

21 players competed in the 2023 WV Senior Championship, held in Bridgeport on November 4. Mark Eidemiller from PA won the tournament with a perfect 4/4. Lewis Sanders and David Hines tied for second with 3 points and are the 2023 WV Senior Co-Champions. Lewis will represent WV in the Irwin Tournament of Senior Champions.

USCF Crosstable

Thomas Bergquist Memorial

22 players competed in the Thomas Bergquist Memorial WV State Championship, held September 9-10 in Huntington. John Boylin was guaranteed a share of the title after starting 4-0, and had mercy on the 2022 champion, Benjamin Good, with a final round draw.

John finished a point ahead of the field to win his first state title and $200. Ben Good, Sam Timmons, Lewis Sanders, and Suneil Avirneni of Oklahoma shared the 2nd, 3rd, and U1900 prize money. David Hundley won the U1600 prize. Matthew Phelps and Clay Thompson shared the U1300 prize.

The upset prize was won by Caden Eldridge (1007) for his victory over John Roush (2000).


YMCA Spring Open

The YMCA Spring Open was held on April 8 at the Huntington YMCA. 33 players competed in total. The Open section was won by John Boylin (surprise, surprise) with a perfect 4-0 score. Lewis Sanders, Ryan Ward, Weston Robarts, and Steven Aguilar were tied for second with 3-1. The Scholastic had a tie for first between Joe DeGroff and Tarunsai Bhumanapalli, who drew each other in round 3 and won their other games for a 3.5-0.5 score.

This entry was posted in Results on by .

Mountaineer Open Again!?

As the January 14 event went so well, another Mountaineer Open was held on Sunday, April 2 at the Mountainlair. 35 players competed in the rated sections. In the Open section, Lewis Sanders had a perfect 4-0, while Elijah Tipton, Kevin Speray, Hardy Gu, and Pushkal Solanki were tied for second with 3-1. The Collegiate/Scholastic section was won by William Northey with a 4-0 score. Dan Nguyen and Aditya Jain were second with 3-0.

USCF Crosstable