2016 National Chess Day

Date: October 8, 2016
Location: St. Francis of Assisi, 1023 6th Ave, Saint Albans
Open – 4SS G/60 d/5
Scholastic 700+ – 3RR Quad G/45 d/5
Scholastic U700 – 3RR Quad G/30 d/5
Scholastic Unrated – 3-4SS G/30 d/5
Registration: Open 9-9:45, Scholastic 8-8:45
Rounds: Open 10-12:30-3-5:30, Scholastic Rated 9-ASAP, Scholastic Unrated 9-10:15-11:30-12:45
Entry Fee: Open $25, Scholastic Rated $10, Scholastic Unrated $5
Open – $$b/16: $100-75-50, U1600 $50-25
Scholastic Rated – $20 to each Quad winner
Scholastic Rated – 1 year USCF membership to top 2 plus trophies and medals

2016 National Chess Day Flyer/Entry Form

WV Action Championship Results

22 players from across the state and neighboring Maryland and Pennsylvania competed in the typically wild and crazy Action Championship. The fireworks were plenty with multiple upsets, time scrambles, and even a queen-and-knight-extra stalemate.

After the dust settled, Lewis “Crafty” Sanders emerged unscathed with 4 wins and 2 draws. The birthday boy, Ben Good, was just behind him at 4 wins, 1 draw, and 1 loss. Special thanks to Mrs. Good for a birthday surprise of chess-themed cupcakes between rounds 4 and 5.


The full crosstable can be found here.

2015 – 2016 Grand Prix Standings

After 5 events, Lewis Sanders is leading the 2015 – 2016 Grand Prix.

Events included:
2015 National Chess Day, 2015 St. Francis Fall Open, 2015 WV Senior Open, 2016 Winter Open, 2016 Action Championship

 1. Lewis Sanders       45.58
 2. Dan Cady            36.67
 3. Markle Butcher      34.92
 4. Joseph Baker        33.33
 5. John Roush          30.58
 6. David Bruner        29.33
 7. Ed Garner           27.17
 8. Boyd Reed           18.58
 9. Nikhilesh Kunche    14.75
10. James Fuller        13.00
11. Charles McCallister 12.00
12. Bill Haynes         11.50
13. Sam Timmons         11.25
14. Mike Felton         11.00
    Marvin Boyce        11.00
16. David Hundley       10.50
17. Surya Perla          8.00
18. Ben Good             7.50
19. Bob Canary           6.67
    Marty Clevenger      6.67
21. Edward Shade         6.50
22. Mayor Bob            6.33
23. Anthony Francis      6.00
24. Jim Fields           5.00
    Ryan Ward            5.00
    Chris Greer          5.00
27. Miller Bushong       3.33
    Tyler Barnhart       3.33
29. Alex Chouinard       1.67

24th Annual Parkersburg Homecoming Chess Tournament

WVCA Grand Prix Event
Date: August 21, 2016
Location: Parkersburg Municipal Building, 2nd & Market Streets
Format: 4 Round Swiss System, G/60 d/5.
2 Sections: Open, Non-Rated
Time: Registration ends 9-9:45. Rounds 10-12:45-3-5:15.
Byes: One 1/2-pt Bye available in Rds. 1-3 (request required prior to Rd. 1).
Entry Fee: Open – $15 postmarked by 8/15, $20 at site. Non-Rated – $10
Prizes: Open – Trophy to First, $$ Based on Entries. Non-Rated – Trophies to 1st and 2nd.
Entries/Information: Patrick Kelly, 104 Iroquois Dr., Marietta, OH 45750, (740) 374-0538, pkelly03@sprynet.com
Wheelchair accessible.

78th WV State Championship

Date: September 3 – 5, 2016
Format: 6 Round Swiss System
Location: WVSSPA Building, 1610 Washington Street East, Charleston, WV 25311
Registration: 9 – 10:30 am
Rounds: Saturday 11-5, Sunday 9-3, Monday 9-3
Time Control: 35/90 d/5, SD/60
Byes: Maximum two per player. Half point bye requests must be made prior to start of tournament
Entry Fee: $40 by 8/20, $50 at site (Make checks payable to Charleston Chess Club.)
Prizes: $900 b/20: $300-150, U1900 $100-50, U1600 $100-50, U1300 $100-50. Trophy to top WVCA member and resident.
Contact: John Everett Roush; jroush@wvsspa.org; 1-304-550-4103
Annual WVCA business meeting Saturday at 9am. No smoking. Wheelchair accessible. WVCA membership required, other states accepted for out-of-state players.

49th WV Scholastic Championship Results

88 players competed in the 49th annual WV Scholastic Championship held in Institute. The WV Scholastic Chess Association organized the event and president Robert L Greer was the chief tournament director.

The high school champion is Parker Benson (3.5/4), who won on tiebreaks over Vishnu Kasireddy and Cody Kropp. Parker will represent WV in the GM Arnold Denker Tournament of High School Champions.

The middle school champion is Nicholas Palmer (4/4). Nicholas will represent WV at the Dewain Barber Tournament of K-8 Champions.

Clare Higgins was the top female finisher and will represent WV at the US Chess National Girls Tournament of Champions.

All three of these events will be held from July 30 to August 2 in Indianapolis during the US Open.


The WV Gazette has also posted a story on the event which can be seen here.

Format for the WV State Championship

The WV State Championship has been a 6 round event held over Labor Day since 1945. Over the past several years, people have mentioned that they cannot keep up with a 3 day event on a holiday weekend. We’d like to get some opinions and possibly propose an amendment to the bylaws for a vote at this year’s tournament. So, what do you say?

What is your preferred format for the WV State Championship?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...